Breakfast

Papas y Chorizo con Huevos al Horno

I love potatoes!  I may have said that before but I will say that again.  And though I am usually not a fan of eating breakfast, the weekends are usually an exception.

This recipe combines two flavors I love:  papas and chorizo (potatoes and chorizo).

And if you are looking for a good brunch dish, this one fits the bill.  You can get the casserole dishes ready ahead of time, store them in the fridge until you are ready and add the egg and cheese right before you want to bake them.  Just make sure to bring them up to room temperature before putting them in the oven.

Also, I used Soyrizo, but you can use regular Mexican chorizo.  For me, I like to make dishes vegetarian whenever possible, and I like how Soyrizo works in this dish.  In the notes for this dish, Marge Poore suggests serving fresh fruit and pan dulce on the side.  Spot on.

Enjoy!  And have a great Mexican breakfast or brunch!

Potatoes and Chorizo with Baked Eggs 2

Papas y Chorizo con Huevos al Horno  (Potatoes and Chorizo with Baked Eggs)

2 potatoes, peeled and diced small or medium, to your taste

8 ounces Soyrizo (or Mexican chorizo with casings removed)

¼ white onion, finely chopped

Salt, to taste

Pico de gallo, fresh Mexican salsa or other salsa

4 large eggs

1 cup Monterey Jack Cheese, shredded

Vegan Chorizo Browning 1

Dice the potatoes and set aside.  In a large skillet over medium heat, add the chorizo and break it apart into small pieces with a spatula.  Stir and cook until it begins to brown.

Chorizo and Potatoes

Add the potatoes and onion.  Add salt, to taste.  Cover and cook until the potatoes are tender, about 15-20 minutes.

Chorizo and Potatoes Prep

Divide the chorizo and potatoes into 4 ramekins or small casserole dishes.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.  Bake the potatoes and chorizo mixture until it is hot.  Take the casserole dishes out of the oven and make a small indentation in the middle of each dish.

Potato and Chorizo Prep with Cheese

Add an egg into each indentation and sprinkle with the shredded cheese.

Return the casserole dishes to the oven and bake them until the eggs are cooked to your liking.  I don’t like runny eggs, so I cook mine more than most people would.

 

Once they are out of the oven, top with the salsa and enjoy!

 

7 replies »

  1. Anju,
    I’m glad to be back. And I’m glad to see you are enjoying the summer weather at the beach.
    This recipe does make a very tasty breakfast dish. And the spritzer is definitely something to enjoy a the beach! I hope you enjoy some of the other recipes coming up soon!

    • Rigo, I was at the beach house last weekend and made the dish. It was fantastic. My friend’s sister Karen made salsa to go with it. We all thank you for the recipe. I want to attach a photo, but can’t see a way to do it via my phone. I’ll try when I’m next on a laptop.

  2. Welcome back, Rigo! I missed your posts. I just got back from a beach weekend at a friend’s home, and wish I had seen this and the spritzer recipe. I can’t think of a better brunch dish than one that combines meat, potatoes, eggs and cheese! Salsa is a bonus. Will definitely try making it soon!

  3. Good to see you back! I’m there with potatoes-never met one I didn’t like 🙂 In fact I made a similar dish for dinner last week. A side of refried beans and my hubby was in heaven!

    • Potatoes would be one of the things I would want if I was trapped on a deserted island!

      Thanks for the welcome back. And I’m glad to be back. A job change took a lot of my time for a while, but things are back in a routine. I’ve still been cooking, so I’ll be posting more regularly.

Leave a comment