Beans

Rice and Garbanzo Soup

This recipe comes from a cookbook I found and then lost and then found again.

As a student in Ann Arbor, Michigan, I came across this book, The Best 125 Meatless Mexican Dishes by Susan Geiskopf –Hadler and Mindy Toomay, at AfterWords, a bookstore near the corner of Liberty and Main Street.  I loved going in there to browse, not knowing what I would find.  Sadly, it is no longer there.

While working at a school in Detroit, I let someone borrow the book, then we moved to Georgia (without the book) and after looking for another copy for years and years, I found another copy in a used bookstore here in Madison on State Street.

One of the things I like about this cookbook is that it takes many of the foods I love and grew up with and makes some delicious changes to make them vegetarian.  And for most recipes, they were already vegetarian!

Rice and Garbanzo Soup

Rice and Garbanzo Soup

1 tablespoon olive oil

2 cloves of garlic, minced

½ white onion, diced

2 – 3 carrots (about 6 – 8 ounces), peeled and diced

6 cups vegetable stock

¾ cup long-grain white rice

1 teaspoon chipotle en adobo, minced (remove seeds for a milder soup)

1 teaspoon Mexican oregano, crumbled

Salt, to taste

2 cups cooked garbanzo beans (chick peas)

2 tablespoons lime juice

1 ripe Haas avocado, diced

1 – 2 Roma tomato, cored and diced

Carrots Onion Garlic

Heat the oil over medium heat.  Add the garlic, onion and carrot and sauté for 3 – 4 minutes.

Add Garbanzos

Pour in the stock along with the rice, chipotle chile, oregano and salt.  Bring to a boil, then reduce to low and cook for 15 – 20 minutes.  Stir occasionally.  Once the rice is tender, add the garbanzo beans and keep cooking until the garbanzos are heated through.  Stir in the lime juice and remove from the stove.

IMG_8465 pm

Place some of the diced tomato and avocado in a bowl.  Ladle the soup over the tomato and avocado and serve.  Add more lime, avocado and tomato to your taste.

 

7 replies »

  1. Dear Rigo,

    I made this last night along with the Enchiladas Suiza, and my dinner guests and I loved it. My only mistake was putting in Jasmine Rice, which is more starchy, and made the soup thicker than I would have liked. All the same, it was delicious, and I have great leftovers. I wanted to add a pic, but there doesn’t seem to be a way to do it here with this comment. 🙂

    Thank you,
    Anju

  2. Looks really good. I think I’ll make it substituting some of the soup beans I’ve grown for the garbanzos. Gotta find more uses for those.

Leave a comment