Beans

Chipotle Eggplant with a Black Bean Sauce

I am glad to say that I have not posted regularly for a while because I am working with some amazing kids that keep me busy.  As a middle school teacher, life at work is a bit unpredictable.  Add coaching soccer, even more.  But I love it!

Recently, over our Winter Break, I had a chance to review my “archive” of dishes and I came across this recipe.   We’ve enjoyed it and I would like to share it.  I think it makes a delicious vegetarian main dish.

This recipe is adapted from a recipe in More Mexican Everyday by Rick Bayless.  I’ve included a link to his original recipe below.  This is my version.

Spicy Chipotle Eggplant with Black Beans

Berenjena al Chipotle con Frijoles Negros (Spicy Chipotle Eggplant with a Black Bean Sauce)

2 pounds eggplant (I used graffiti eggplant in this recipe)

2 tablespoons olive oil

6 tablespoons Sweet-Sour Dark Chipotle Seasoning (recipe below)

2 cups black beans and cooking liquid (if you are using canned beans, include their liquid)

Salt to taste

Queso fresco, crumbled

Cilantro leaves, for garnish

Mexican cream, optional

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees Fahrenheit.  Place the shelf at the middle level.

Eggplant

Trim the eggplant and cut them into ½ inch rounds.  Place them in a bowl and toss them with the oil and 4 tablespoons of the chipotle seasoning sauce.  Make sure to rub the sauce over each piece evenly.  Place them on an oiled backing sheet.  When the oven is ready, roast them for about 20 minutes, turning them at least once.

Eggplant Slices with Rub and Ready for the Oven

As the eggplant roasts, place the black beans into a food processor and blend until smooth and mix in 2 tablespoons of the chipotle seasoning sauce. Simmer the black bean sauce over low heat and add more liquid, if necessary, to give it the consistency of a thick sauce and keep warm over low heat.  Salt, if needed.

Eggplant Roasted

Take the eggplant out of the oven, when ready, and spoon some of the black bean sauce on each plate.  Add slices of eggplant on top of the sauce and top with the cilantro, crumbled queso fresco and Mexican cream.

Serve and enjoy!

Sweet-Sour Dark Chipotle Seasoning

2 cans* chipotle chiles (see note below)

2 tablespoons molasses

¼ cup balsamic vinegar

¼ cup brown sugar

½ cup water

¼ tamari (soy sauce)

Sweet Sour Dark Chipotle Seasoning 1

Process the ingredients in a blender until smooth.  Add to a small saucepan and cook over medium heat until it begins to simmer.  Lower the heat to low and cook for about 30 minutes until the sauce thickens to the consistency a thick tomato sauce.  Remove from the heat and stir in the tamari (soy sauce).  Add water if the sauce is too thick.  It should be the consistency of ketchup.  Salt, to taste.

*NOTE:  The recipe in the book does not state how large of a can of chipotle chiles is needed for the recipe.  Initially, I used the 7.5 ounce cans, but I found that was too much chipotle and heat.  Chipotles en adobo are delicious, but a little bit goes a long way.  You can use the two cans as suggested in the original recipe, but I use only one can and add a bit of broth or water instead of the second can.  It is up to you and your taste buds!

I also used a bit less of the seasoning sauce on the eggplant and the seasoning sauce than called for.  I feel you enjoy the flavor of the black bean sauce and eggplant a bit more with these adjustments.  IMHO.

Chipotle Peppers in Adobo Sauce 7.5 oz

The Washington Post link for the original recipe:

Spicy Chipotle Eggplant With Black Beans

5 replies »

  1. Rigo, I am so glad to see your posts again! And thank you for this recipe. Many of my friends are vegetarians, and I love making new dishes for them.

      • I will be mindful. My friends can tolerate heat much better than I can, so I doubt they would complain. But I would!

      • Dear Rigo, I made this dish, and Tortitas de Papa y Masa con Verduras and your basic guacamole for a few friends on Saturday. They all (and I) loved all the dishes. One friend said she had been wanting to go to a restaurant for so long, and this was a restaurant-quality meal. I agree with you on using just one can of chipotle chiles. It gave just enough heat; two would have been overpowering. Thank you so much for these wonderful recipes!

Leave a comment