Drinks

Agua Fresca de Melón Verde

It is mid-April and we are at 80° F here in Madison!  I love warm weather!

We have the all the windows open and as I walk around the house, I love the feel of warm breezes that I catch or catch me unexpectedly.

To celebrate, I decided to make something that goes well when the temperatures are up:  agua fresca.

This agua fresca is fairly traditional, though most of the time people use cantaloupe.  I love cantaloupe, but David does not.  But I came across this recipe in the Dos Caminos Mexican Street Food cookbook, by Ivy Stark with Joanna Pruess that uses honeydew melon.  And it adds mint, which is a nice touch, in my opinion.  And it is delicious and refreshing.

Agua Fresca de Melon

Agua Fresca de Melon Verde (Minted Honeydew Melon Agua Fresca)

2 cups water

½ cup sugar

4 cups honeydew melon, cubed

6 large mint leaves

The juice of 1 lime (at least 1 tablespoon)

Mix the water and the sugar in a sauce pan and bring to a simmer until the sugar has dissolved.  Let it cool.

In a blender, add the melon, mint, lime juice and the sweetened water.  Blend until very smooth.  Place it in a pitcher and let it cool for at least one hour.

To serve, stir the agua fresca and pour into glasses filled with ice.

You can add some rum or tequila before you pour in the agua fresca to make the drink a little bit more “interesting.”

 

4 replies »

Leave a comment