Appetizer

Salsa de Frijoles Negros con Aguacate

On our first full day here in Ixtapa, I made a nice pot of black beans, knowing that there were many ways we could use them. This is one of them.

For dinner last night, I made this salsa to serve over some simple sautéed chicken breasts we bought at the market. But you can also eat this salsa with some corn chips and it would go well with some grilled fish. As you can see, I like my pieces of avocado on the large size, but you can cut them into a smaller dice if that is would you prefer and it would taste just as good!

pm IMG_5700

Salsa de Frijoles Negros con Aguacate (Black Bean Salsa with Avocado)

2 cups black beans, rinsed and drained

2 tablespoons white onion, finely chopped

2 serrano chiles, finely chopped

1 – 2 tomatoes, seeded and chopped

1 tablespoon olive oil

½ lime, juiced

Salt, to taste

1 – 2 avocados, peeled, pitted and diced

1 – 2 tablespoons cilantro, finely chopped

pm IMG_5682

Mix all of the ingredients, except the cilantro and avocado. Reserve the mix in the refrigerator until ready to use.

When ready, prepare the avocado and cilantro and gently stir it into the black bean mixture. Adjust seasoning (salt and lime), to taste.

 

1 reply »

  1. I can see I’ve missed a few posts! THis sounds wonderful, and I have everything on hand for it – I love a recipe you can whip together. I hope you’re having/had? a wonderful time 🙂

Leave a comment