Desserts

Cornmeal Thumbprint Cookies

When I first came across this recipe, I noticed right away that it used cornmeal as one of the ingredients. Cornmeal can be used in both sweet and savory dishes and I love a good corn bread!

Though I would not call myself as someone with a “sweet tooth,” I do like simple cookies that are not too sweet.   And I think these fit the bill.

I made a copy of this recipe before I ever thought I might have to cite it, so I apologize to the original author. I made a small change and used orange extract instead of vanilla because I like the combination of peach, orange and corn flavors. I don’t know why but I thought they would work well together, and I think they do.*

Cookies on Tray 2

Cornmeal Thumbprint Cookies

½ cup blanched, unsalted almonds

½ cup powdered sugar

1 ¼ cups all-purpose flour

½ cup yellow cornmeal

The zest of one lemon

½ teaspoon salt

8 tablespoons cold unsalted butter, cut into a small dice

1 large egg

1 teaspoon orange extract or vanilla extract

2/3 cup peach, apricot, pineapple or your favorite fruit preserve

Sugar and Almonds

Place the almonds and the sugar in a food processor and pulse until the almonds are finely ground.

Cornmeal Flour and Lemon Zest

Add the flour, cornmeal, lemon zest, salt, and pulse to mix well.

Add Butter

Add the butter and pulse until it resembles a course meal.

In a small bowl, stir the egg and the orange extract and add to the flour mixture in the food processor. Pulse until a dough begins to form.

Cookie Dough Wrapped in Plastic

Transfer to a floured surface and knead lightly and form into a small disk. Wrap in plastic or parchment paper and chill in the refrigerator for an hour.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.

Remove the dough from the refrigerator and roll it into 1-inch balls. Place the dough on an ungreased baking sheet, about 2 inches apart. With your thumb, press into the center of each cookie to make a small indentation.

Spoon about ½ teaspoon of your desired fruit preserve into each indentation. Place the cookies in the oven and bake for 15 minutes or until they are slightly golden brown.

Cookies in the Oven

Remove from the oven and let them cool on a wire rack and they are ready to eat. Though they are good slightly warm with a cool glass of milk.

*NOTE: You can use vanilla, if you prefer. Also, when I added the orange extract, I removed the ¼ teaspoon ground nutmeg. Add that to the cookies if you use vanilla instead.

1 reply »

Leave a Reply

