Beans

Ensalada de Garbanzos

If you have had a chance to browse through el chino latino cocina, you will notice that I like garbanzo beans, and beans in general. Here I present another garbanzo bean recipe!

Thanks to a gift from my parents-in-law, I am having a great time exploring the many delicious recipes in Healthy Latin Eating by Angie Martinez and Angelo Sosa. As I’ve read through the book, I’ve focused on Angelo’s recipes which are Mexican-based, though I like many of Angie’s recipes too. I have adapted this recipe slightly to my taste.

This is what Angelo says about the recipe, which is titled “Ensalada de Carmen” in the book:

This was part of Tía Carmen’s arsenal of dishes she’d make during the summer. It was one of my favorites because it was flavorful and had a hint of Middle Eastern cooking, one of my best-loved cuisines.

I also love Middle Eastern flavors and I added a bit of fresh spinach. Thankfully, it is spring and our local farms are growing lots of it!

Ensalada de Carmen

Ensalada de Garbanzos

2 cups chickpeas, rinsed and drained (canned or home-cooked)

2 tablespoons chopped cilantro

¼ red onion, chopped

1 plum tomato, seeded and diced

1 jalapeño, seeded and minced

½ red bell pepper, diced

1 lime, juiced

2 tablespoons olive oil

½ teaspoon ground cumin

Salt and pepper, to taste

Fresh spinach

pm IMG_0788

In a large bowl, combine all of the ingredients and toss to mix well. Let the salad sit at room temperature and then toss again. Serve over a bed of fresh spinach leaves.

2 replies »

Leave a Reply

