Main Dish

GUERERRO: Huachinango con Crema de Limón

I am happy to say that I am back in México! We are enjoying some great weather, great views and, of course, great food. The first night my in-laws invited us to eat at a restaurant named Bogart’s, here in Ixtapa, in the state of Guerrero. As the name implies, it is dedicated to Humphrey Bogart. And the overall decor is inspired by the movie Casablanca. I had fresh tuna steak with a delicious date cream sauce.  Last night I made the recipe below, along with some black beans and arroz con zanahorias (rice with carrots).

Yesterday morning, we took a short trip to the city of Zihuatanejo to visit their market to get some fresh produce and fish. As we walked through the market, I wished we had places like these back home. There was so much to see and taste! More than once I thought of buying something and then realizing it wouldn’t make it past customs.

While there, I also remembered doing the same thing with my grandmother when we would visit her. She would not make one large shopping trip, but would go every day to get what she needed. I didn’t think about it back then, but I’m sure the freshness of the ingredients is part of what made her food taste so great!

The view from our condo.

The view from the condo balcony.

Huachinango con Crema de Limón (Red Snapper with Lime Cream Sauce)

4 (6 ounce) red snapper fillets

½ teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 tablespoon unsalted butter

3 cebollas de cambray (or green onion), thinly sliced

1 garlic clove, minced ¼ cup cilantro, finely chopped

1 serrano chile, seeded and minced

¼ cup chicken broth

½ cup heavy cream

2 – 3 tablespoons lime juice

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees Fahrenheit. Season the fillets with salt. Heat the oil in a large nonstick pan over high heat.

pm IMG_5651

Sauté the fish for 3 minutes per side and remove to a plate. Keep the fish warm in the oven.

pm IMG_5648

In the same pan, add the butter and lower the heat to medium.

pm IMG_5653

Add the green onion, garlic, serrano chile and cilantro and cook for 2 minutes

. pm IMG_5655

Stir in the broth and the cream. Bring to a boil and cook, stirring frequently, until the sauce reduces slightly (about 2 minutes). Remove from the heat. Stir in the lime juice and taste for salt. If you like more of a lime flavor, you can add more lime juice to your taste.

pm IMG_5658

Place a fillet on a plate and pour the lime sauce over the fish and serve.

NOTES: The fishmonger sliced the fillets thinly before I noticed. I would like a thicker fillet, but these still turned out delicious.

I came across this recipe in Marge Poore’s 1,000 Mexican Recipes and I made sure to bring it with me when we came to visit again.  I will definitely be making this dish again back home, even if I can’t find red snapper.  I think the sauce would work well with many different kinds of fish.

Also, cebollas de cambray are basically green onions, but their base is more of a bulb than the green onions I find at the supermarket back home (see picture below).

Wikpedia - Español

Wikipedia – Español

Leave a Reply

