Appetizer

Green Chile Chutney

If you’ve never visited New Mexico, you should definitely move it to the top of your list. It is a beautiful part of our country and the food, in my opinion, is amazing.

I came across this recipe in a book while browsing through a used bookstore here in Madison. When I saw “Santa Fe” in the title, I was interested. When I skimmed through the book, I was hooked. The cookbook is The Santa Fe School of Cooking Cookbook by Susan Curtis, published in 1995.

This is what she says about this recipe: “This makes a great condiment for blue corn pancakes, and it is also good with poultry and as an appetizer with cheese or cream cheese.” We’ve tried it with the blue corn pancakes and with cream cheese and both uses were delicious!

Green Chile Chutney

Green Chile Chutney

4 fresh tomatillos, husk removed, rinsed and quartered

1 cup white onion, chopped

¼ cup Anaheim or New Mexican green chiles, roasted, seeded, peeled and diced

1 cup sugar

1 cup cider vinegar

2 teaspoons salt

¼ teaspoon ground cumin

¼ teaspoon ground coriander

1 teaspoon ground chile de árbol, or other milder ground red chile

Onion and Tomatillo

Place the tomatillos and onion in a food processor and pulse until finely chopped.

Green Onion and Tomatillo Saute

Heat a large saucepan over high heat and add the tomatillos and onion. Sauté for a 1-2 minutes until slightly softened.

Chiles, Sugar, Vinegar and Spices

Add the rest of the ingredients and bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer.

Green Chile Chutney reducing

Cook over low heat for about 50 to 60 minutes, stirring often, until it thickens. It should resemble a thick relish.

Let it cool and serve.

With Blue Corn Pancakes:

Green Chile Chutney

8 replies »

      • Wow, that is a lot – I love sweet/sour flavor though. I went back just for the heck of it and compared the amounts to my Hot Pepper Jam, and it uses a cup of vinegar to about three cups of sugar. But then it is pretty sweet.

        I forgot to mention, way back when, I made your tomatilla salsa and it was fantastic! I’d make it again but I’m trying to avoid chips! New Year’s and all!

Leave a Reply

