Pasta

Chipotle Macaroni & Cheese

As I said in an earlier post, I love macaroni and cheese. It is comfort food that seems to taste especially delicious in winter.

I have a collection of mac and cheese recipes and this is one of them. This comes from Richard Sandoval’s New Latin Flavors cookbook. Aside from the use of chipotle, what caught my eye was that he uses Velveeta cheese. I don’t use Velveeta very often but I wanted to give this recipe a try and I only made a few minor changes.

This is what he says about the recipe: “My basic mac and cheese isn’t standard issue, even though I do use pasteurized cheese product (aka Velveeta) in my sauce. (I can’t apologize for this, as I have found that other cheeses get gritty from overheating in the oven, which is hard to avoid.) Chipotle gives it zing and some onion also helps keep it lively.”

I agree. The sauce is creamy and this mac and cheese does have zing!

Chipotle Macaroni and Cheese

Chipotle Macaroni and Cheese

Salt

2 cups elbow macaroni

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 small white onion

2 plum (Roma) tomatoes, seed and diced

1 poblano chile, roasted, seeded, peeled and diced

1 chipotle chile en adobo, finely chopped

2 teaspoons adobo from the chipotle en adobo can or jar

1 cup heavy cream

8 ounces Velveeta or other pasteurized cheese product, diced into large cubes

½ cup panko bread crumbs

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Lightly butter or oil an 8 ½ by 11 inch (or 9 by 13 inch) baking dish.

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil and cook the macaroni according to the instructions on the package. Cook them until they are almost tender. Drain the pasta well.

Onion, Tomato and Poblano Chile

In a large saucepan, heat 1 tablespoon of olive oil over medium heat. Add the onion and cook until translucent.

OTP Saute

Add the poblano peppers, tomato, chopped chipotle and adobo, stir and cook for 3 minutes.

With Cream

Add the cream and bring to a low simmer.

Adding Cheese

Add the Velveeta cheese cubes and stir until it melts and blends in with the cream and vegetables.

Stirring in Sauce

Stir in the reserved pasta and mix well to evenly coat it with the cheese sauce.

In Baking Dish

Pour the pasta into the baking dish.

Bread Crumbs

Mix the panko bread crumbs with the remaining tablespoon of olive oil and sprinkle over the macaroni and cheese. Place in the oven and bake for 25 minutes or until the top is slightly browned.

Browned Bread Topping

Serve and eat while it is hot.

 

2 replies »

  1. Yep, I swear by Velvetta too and I also use cheddar and parm (or really whatever cheese I have in the dairy drawer) to make it a tres queso mac-n-cheese. Will try adding the chili next time! -Kat

Leave a Reply

