Fruits

Tomato, Pomegranate and Sumac Salad with a Pomegranate Dressing

When I saw this salad, I knew I had to make it!  Not only do I love tomatoes but when you add the sweet tartness of fresh pomegranate and the sourness of sumac, they are even better.  It is a simple salad, but it is big on flavor.

The recipe is from a cookbook I checked out from our public library called Purple Citrus & Sweet Perfume: Cuisine of the Eastern Mediterranean by Silvena Rowe.  This is some of what she says about the salad, “The combination of sumac and tomato was made in heaven.  This salad is best in the summertime when you can buy tomatoes that have not been grown in a greenhouse, when they are sweet and delicious.”  If you have some from your garden, even better!

Tomato Sumac Pomegranate Salad

Tomato, Pomegranate and Sumac Salad with a Pomegranate Dressing

6 ripe plum tomatoes

The seeds of 1 pomegranate

1/4 cup olive oil

2 tablespoons pomegranate molasses

1 teaspoon crushed sumac (I used ground sumac)

1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

salt and pepper to taste

Slice the tomatoes and set aside in a large bowl.  Add the pomegranate seeds and toss.  In a separate bowl, whisk together the olive oil, pomegranate molasses, sumac and cumin.  Place the tomatoes on separate plates and drizzle with the dressing.  Sprinkle more sumac and pomegranate seeds, if you’d like and serve.

The recipe suggests that it makes six servings, but that depends on how large your tomatoes are and on how hungry you are!

2 replies »

  1. I will save this recipe for when my tomatoes in my own garden ripen. I will also use my own sumac – and the other ingredients I already have. It looks delicious.

Leave a Reply

