Appetizer

Roasted Garbanzos

I first came across a recipe for roasted garbanzos in Mark Bittman’s cookbook How to Cook Everything.  I recently came across a great blog (thegreekvegan.com) that had another version of the snack and I had to make them.  I’ve recently made crackers and pizza with garbanzo flour, so I thought it would be nice to use the whole bean.

This is the first time I have made this snack, but it seems to me that you can change up the spices and the ingredients to your taste very easily.  I added a few ingredients I had to the mix and it turned out well.

IMG_9831

Roasted Garbanzos

2 cans (29 ounce) garbanzos (chickpeas), well-drained

2-3 tablespoons olive oil

1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon ground fennel seed

1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes

1 teaspoon ground coriander

1 teaspoon ground cumin

1/2 cup golden raisins

1/2 cup dried apricots, diced

1 cup roasted salted pistachios

1/2 lemon, juiced

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.  In a bowl large enough to hold the garbanzos, add the olive oil and the spices.

IMG_9798IMG_9802

Whisk the oil and spices and add the well-drained garbanzos and stir them to coat them with the oil and spices.

IMG_9817

Line a large baking sheet with foil  and add half of the prepared garbanzos in a single layer.  Make sure to spread them out evenly so they are not crowded and place them in the oven.

IMG_9823

After about 15 minutes, stir the garbanzos so they bake evenly all around.  Check at 35 minutes to see if they are almost crunchy.  You might have to keep them in the oven for another 10 minutes depending on how crunchy you like them.  When they are done, take them out of the oven and let them cool completely.

IMG_9828

Place in another bowl.  You can enjoy them at this point or you can mix in the golden raisins, dried apricots and pistachios.  Add the lemon right before you are serving them and stir.

As I mentioned above, you can use the basic roasting recipe and change things up experimenting with other spices.  I will probably try this with a Mexican spice blend along with some toasted pepitas and some dried apricots or raisins.

2 replies »

  1. This sounds like a wonderful snack! I’ve never had roasted chickpeas with dried fruit, but I must give it a try very soon. I’m thinking this will be energizing on a day long hike. 🙂

    • They are delicious. I hadn’t thought about taking them along on a hike. I’m looking forward to hiking now that the weather is getting warmer. I’ll have to try some variations and enjoy them in the great outdoors!

Leave a Reply

