Main Dish

Caldo Verde

We had our first snow of the season today.  It wasn’t much, but it was a nice reminder of what is to come.  Our puppy, Russell, didn’t know what to do with it so, of course, he started eating it.

But it is still Fall in this part of the world and it is a time to enjoy cold-weather greens.  In this case: Kale.

It wasn’t until I moved to Michigan that I tried kale for the first time. I never had it growing up since either my Mom didn’t like it or it is not used much in Mexican cooking.  But, thankfully, I like kale.  And I have always loved potatoes.  This is a great combination.

This recipe is based on the traditional Portuguese Kale and Potato soup but I’ve made my version vegetarian.  Kale and potatoes are delicious together.  It reminds me of a delicious Irish recipe I should make soon!  Enjoy.

IMG_9697

Caldo Verde (Kale and Potato Soup)

2 tablespoons olive oil

8 – 10 ounces chorizo (vegetarian), diced

1 medium sweet or yellow onion, chopped

1 tablespoon garlic, finely chopped

1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper

4 medium Russet potatoes, diced into 1/2 inch cubes

8 cups water, or vegetable broth

8 ounces kale, stems removed

salt and pepper to taste

Heat the olive oil over medium heat.  Add the diced chorizo until browned, remove and drain over paper towel.  Set aside.

IMG_9668

Add the onion and garlic. Cook until the onion is soft and translucent.  Add the crushed red pepper and stir for about one minute.  Add the potatoes and stir.

IMG_9677

Add the water or stock and bring to a boil.  Add the salt and pepper.  Once it is boiling, bring it down to a simmer and cook for 20 minutes or until the potatoes are soft and tender.

Roll the kale leaves into “cigar” rolls and thinly slice.  Set aside.

IMG_9682IMG_9684IMG_9689

When the potatoes are ready, lightly break them apart using a potato masher (I like chunky potatoes in my soup).  Add the kale along with the reserved chorizo and simmer for 15 – 20 minutes.  Taste for seasoning and serve.

IMG_9693

Update: I used these vegetarian Spanish Chorizo style sausages, but I use homemade chorizo when I have some already prepared.  Here is the recipe for how I make it.  You can even use real Spanish chorizo if you’d like.  Just make sure you don’t use Mexican chorizo for this recipe.

IMG_9664

4 replies »

Leave a Reply

